top of page

The odd one out

I recently was thinking about skin colour in Germany due to the rise of refugees here in Germany as well as the Paris terror attacks. At first when i first got to Germany, i lived in a small town where people seemed to stare and that got to me. It bugged me that whenever i walked down the street curtains would open and someone would just peer outside the window. Just old people who stare as if there were surprised that i could walk and talk like they could and actually reply their questions. Kids or babies stared as well but not as bad as normal people my age. I have gotten used to babies staring and actually trying to figure out if my skin colour is scary or not. The funniest thing is that once babies hear my voice and realize that i speak German as well they go their way and just flow with it. Grown ups are different. They just don't accept it and let it go and be like i am going to flow with this....no they stare and don't stop at that....

10 years have passed and am in an interracial relationship and the funny thing is I have gotten over the staring. I don't see it anymore. I guess i have hardenend up. The worst part is that my partners-in-crime who are supposed to cheer me on are the judgemental ones. I get asked why i have turned my back on our race and why i think there are no good black men out there. It is not like i meant it to happen and i have never been a person to play the race card. I see people for who they are. Are the nice, kind and trustworthy? Then i would want to be their friend...If not then i might want to steer clear of their path. I am just saying that before someone starts judging why i didn't pick a man from my race, they should get to know me first.

My relationship is not easy ( ok no relationship is ever easy. Men and women are different. People are different) I love my man. He has been there from day one. He is like a whip of fresh air and he reminds me that everyday. He walks with me day in and day out. I chose him not because of his skin colour but because he was himself when we met. He blew me away day by day. I guess what am trying to say is that human beings are scared of things especially things we don't know and understand. Open up your heart for new perspectives and you might be surprised who you meet along the way.

XoXo

Momo


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts

© 2023 by Glorify. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page