top of page

GIFTS

We are quick to say no and very cautious to saying yes. We stopped paying attention to the ones that cross our paths. We simply ignored the few who smile or nod or say a quiet hallo. I myself am no better. I talk about it all the time and ask myself where did the good ol' days disappear to. Well the good ol' days are just that....they are the good ol' days. What i wonder at times is the lack of initiative to create good days now and today and not whine about the ones that are already gone. It is good to have fond, beautiful memories of days gone by. I am amazed everytime i remember my Grandpa laugh about some of the things his children or he himself was upto. He was never a man to lament about the present. He took everything with a stride and patience i always thought was out of this world. Even when in pain or tired he never lost touch with appreciating the small things around him. My Granpa passed away some years back but i still remember his wonderful presence as if it was yesterday.

Sometimes the people around us are not supposed to be around us forever. They are to cross our path and make sure we pick up a lesson that we need to learn and move on. Some cross our paths for a day and others for a week and other are there only for a slight moment but it is upto us to see the good side of it all. My sister asked me the other day (due to the refugee crisis in Europe at the moment) if i am facing racisim at the moment. I answered her "not really, not more or less" I guess it is not an answer that you expect to give when someone asks such a question. I have never thought about racisim the way most people do. I have always tried to find the positive people around me. The people/ friends who are curious about my heritage. There is always someone out there who does not like the way your nose is squared down. On the other hand there are more than enough people who willingly let you cross their paths and let you be a part of their lives. These people are for me more interesting and are a gift in their own sense. I am not saying that everyone you meet brings the best out of you!!! I know that i have experienced that more than once. On the other hand i believe that we are vessels that carry gifts with us. Everytime we cross a path we leave a gift behind. It is up to us to pick up the gift and do something with it. If your persona finds that the gift you were given is not positive then look for the positive part of the gift or the lesson well hidden behind it. Above all do not forgot that everyday that passes becomes, "a good ol' day"!!!!!!

Xoxo

Give the gifts a chance!!!!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page